

## **FP7 Third Country Agreements**

## International instruments associating Third Countries to FP7

The following countries are presently associated to FP7.

**Switzerland** (EC and Euratom) - the Science and Technology Agreement was signed on 25 June, 2007 and was concluded and entered into force on 28 February, 2008.

**Israel** (EC) - the Science and Technology Agreement was signed on 16 July, 2007 and was concluded and entered into force on 17 December, 2008.

**Norway**, **Iceland and Liechtenstein** - Article 1 of Protocol 31 of the EEA agreement was amended on 15 June 2007 by a decision of the EEA Joint Committee extending the association of these countries to FP7 which entered into effect on 1 January, 2007.

As a result, legal entities established in Switzerland, Israel, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein are able to receive Community contributions for contracts/grant agreements signed after 1 January 2007.

Turkey, Croatia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Serbia (EC) – the Memoranda of Understanding associating these countries to FP7 were signed on 1 June, 2007 (Turkey) and 13 June, 2007 (Croatia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Serbia) respectively. The provisions of the above association instruments are all applicable since 1 January, 2007.

**Albania and Montenegro** (EC) - the Memoranda of Understanding associating these countries to FP7 were signed on 17 December 2007 and 25 January, 2008, respectively and the provisions of both association instruments are applicable since 1 January, 2008.

**Bosnia & Herzegovina** (EC) - the Memorandum of Understanding associating it to FP7 was signed on 24 November, 2008 and the provisions of this association instrument are applicable since 1 January, 2009.

All legal entities established in these Associated Countries are eligible for funding on the same footing as legal entities from the Member States.

**Faroe Islands** - (EU) The Science and Technology Agreement associating the Faroe Islands to FP7 (EU) was signed on 3 June, 2010. It is provisionally applicable from 1 January 2010.

Version December 2010

PRACTICAL INFORMATION