28 Jun 2021

Congratulations to the Winners of the 2021 John H. Jackson Moot Court Competition’s Final Round!

For the first time ever, a team from Sri Lanka won the Final Round of the competition. Mr. Avishka Jayaweera, Ms. Adithya Ramanitharan, Mr. Sandun Batagoda and Ms. Saheli Wikramanayake were coached by Harish Balakrishnan and Harrison Mbori and represented the University of Colombo. The team was also awarded the Overall Best Written Submission on behalf of the Respondent at the Global Rounds and at the West and South Regional Rounds. The best orator of the Grand Final was Ms. Wikramanayake.

As a long-standing sponsor of this ambitious competition, the WTI awards the following prizes to the team:

  • As winning team, all four members get a tuition fee waiver for two courses of the WTI Winter or Summer Academy in 2021 or 2022.
  • As Best Orator in the final oral round, Ms Saheli Wikramanayake is also awarded a full tuition fee waiver for the 2021/2022 or 2022/2023 TRAIL+ (LL.M.) Programme at the WTI.

As in every year, several WTI affiliates participated as panelists in Regional Rounds as well as in the Global Final Round. Among them, the WTI’s Academic Coordinator, Rodrigo Polanco, who acted as panelist in one of the panels of the quarter finals of the Final Oral Round and Peter Van den Bossche, the WTI’s Director of Studies, who sat on the panel of the finals on 27 June 2021. In addition, Van den Bossche also spoke at the Closing Ceremony.

Visit the official website of the John H. Jackson Moot Court Competition to find out more details about the competition.