24 Aug 2021

Results of the 2021 WTI Moot Court Competition

On 19 and 20 July 2021, the MILE 21 and TRAIL+4 students put months’ worth of preparation to the test in the WTI Moot Court competition, which was held online instead of at the WTO premises like in previous years.

The competition was panelled by esteemed members of the international trade community. Panelists in the semifinals were Mateo Ferrero (WTO, Trade and Environment Division), Christian Vidal-Leon (Advisory Centre on WTO Law), Daniel Ramos, (WTO, Trade and Environment Division) and Jenya Grigorova (WTO, Legal Affairs Division). The panel in the final round consisted of Arthur Appleton (Appleton Luff, WTI), Jenya Grigorova (WTO, Legal Affairs Divison), Peter Van den Bossche (WTI) and Lothar Ehring (European Commission).

A total of four teams competed against each other. The overall winner was Team 3, comprised by Viktoriia Mykuliak from the Ukraine, Alemekezeke Sopo Mando from Malawi, Samanta Parsons from Argentina and Liang Qiao from China.

Team 1, consisting of Burak Bedük from Turkey, Gloria Kidulile from Tanzania, Emily Wakesho from Kenya and Dong Wu from China was awarded for the Best Overall Written Submission. Dong was additionally selected as Best Oralist, while Burak won the award of Runner-Up Best Oralist.

The special award for Best Oralist in Preliminary Rounds was given to Mishael Musili Wambua from Kenya.

Teams 1 and 2 were coached by Svetlana Chobanova (WTO) while Teams 3 and 4 were coached by WTI alumna Iryna Polovets (WTO). 

Congratulations to all teams for their great achievement and a big thank you to the fantastic coaches and panelists!